Lemming Film


THE LOBSTER wins Jury Prize in Cannes

After winning Cannes’ Un Certain Regard prize in 2009 with his dark drama Dogtooth, Greek film-maker Lanthimos picked up the highly coveted Jury Prize for his The Lobster at the closing ceremony of the 68th Cannes Film Festival. The winner declared:"I would like to thank the Jury and Thierry Frémaux for having carried this film. My thanks also go to all those who helped me produce the film, as well as the actors who understood the text which was rather difficult to grasp".

The Lobster is a love story set in the near future where single people are arrested, transferred to The Hotel and obliged to find a matching mate in 45 days. The starry cast includes Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, Ben Whishaw and Léa Seydoux.